top of page
  • Havana Santis

Awards, Scholarships, Memberships: Lyon College Hosts Honors Convocation

On Tuesday, April 18, at 11 A.M., Lyon College hosted its annual Honors Convocation in at Couch Garden. Seniors donned their graduation regalia and filed in from the Mabee-Simpson Library. Professors also filed in with the seniors, while underclassmen, parents, and additional faculty watched. During the Honors Convocation, Lyon community members received awards pertaining to general student life involvement, Greek Life, academic success, and extracurricular participation. Dr. Oliviera, a Lyon biology professor, received the Alpha Chi Professor of the Year award. The College also recognized national honor society members, as many disciplines on campus host local chapters of these societies. Lyon’s chapter of Kappa Sigma received the “President’s Cup” due to its active presence in the Lyon and Batesville community. Hunter Perkins received the MAC Employee of the Year due to his dedication to working in the Morrow Academic Center. Kasey Meyer and Chase Griffith received the Pavlov Award, as both students are active members of Lyon’s KILT radio. The College gifted the LEAP award to Hendy Mulder and Priscilla Llevano for their dedication to Lyon’s Leadership Education and Adventure Program. Isabella Beasley, a Lyon junior, delivered the closing speech, which was optimistic and inspiring. Beasley congratulated the award winners, highlighted the seniors’ accomplishments, and thanked audience members for their attendance. This year’s Honors Convocation was a huge success, as a large portion of the Lyon community joined together for the successful event.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page